Congratulations to the following Saint Katherine Review authors nominated for the 2017 Pushcart Prize


(Poetry) Issue 5.2 – Ideal Speech: Anya Silver

(Prose)   Issue 5.4 – Trail Guide – Amy Peterson

(Poetry) Issue 5.2 – Everyday Grace – Stella Nesanovich

(Poetry) Issue 5.3 – The Forerunner – Raina Jones

(Prose)   Issue 5.3 – Drawing Smoke – Aline Mello

(Prose)   Issue 5.2 – Everyday Ghosts – Timothy O’Reilly


The Pushcart Prize: Best of the Small Presses series, published every year since 1976, is the most honored literary project in America.

Since 1976, hundreds of presses and thousands of writers of short stories, poetry and essays have been represented in our annual collections. Each year most of the writers and many of the presses are new to the series. Every volume contains an index of past selections, plus lists of outstanding presses with addresses.

The Pushcart Prize has been a labor of love and independent spirits since its founding. It is one of the last surviving literary co-ops from the 60’s and 70’s.


Praise for the Prize

“When the future wants to know about our arts and letters, this is the publication it will turn to.” — Sherod Santos

This book is essential.” — Library Journal

“Must reading for anyone interested in the present and future of America’s arts and letters.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A truly remarkable collection of the finest small press poems, essays and short stories.” — Booklist

“The ex-officio house organ for the American literary cosmos.” — Chicago Tribune

“The Pushcart Prize editions are urgent and absolutely necessary.” — Mary Karr

Of far more significance than other awards.”  — Joyce Carol Oates

“A powerhouse.” — Publishers Weekly